Skip to main content

Viewing and managing employee unavailability in the schedule

Employee unavailability is displayed directly within the Schedule, making it easy to identify when team members are unavailable before creating or assigning shifts.

Managers can add, edit and remove and block unavailability directly from the roster without leaving the Schedule. Employees add unavailability from their app in the unavailability tab.

Adding an unavailability

1. Go to Schedule

2. Locate the employee.

3. Select the kebab menu (⋮) on the employee row

4. Select Add Unavailability.

5. Enter the unavailability details:

- Date

- All day or specific times

- Note (optional)

6. Click Save to proceed

Creating recurring unavailability

If an employee has a regular commitment, such as study or another job, you can create a recurring unavailability.


1. Create a new unavailability.

2. Enable Repeat.

3. Select the applicable option:

- Repeat Daily,
- Repeat Weekly on Same Day

- Choose the Repeat Until date.

4. Click Save.

Editing or removing an unavailability

To update an existing unavailability:

1. Click the red unavailability badge within the Schedule.

From here you can update the details, delete a single occurrence, or delete an entire recurring series.

Toggling to view unavailability on the roster

Unavailability is highlighted throughout the Schedule to help managers avoid rostering conflicts.

You will see:
• Red employee names in Day views
• Red indicators on days with employee unavailability
• Warnings when assigning unavailable employees to shifts


You can also toggle unavailability to display at the top of your schedule while using area view.


Navigate to Schedule > Settings > Show Unavailabilities


Please note, toggling to show unavailabilities is account specific, meaning each manager will need to enable this in their own account.

How to view when unavailability was submitted


1. Open your schedule

2. Select the employee from the list on the left

3. Click on the unavailability to view when this was submitted



Blocking new unavailability requests

Managers can prevent employees from submitting new unavailability requests for specific dates.

1. Select the day header

2. Enable Block Unavailabilities

The day will display an Unavailability Blocked indicator and employees will no longer be able to submit new unavailability requests for that date.

How unavailability affects rostering

Urhere uses employee unavailability when helping managers build and manage rosters.

When creating or assigning shifts, employees who are available for the selected shift will be shown first, making it easier to identify suitable team members.

Employees with an overlapping unavailability will be highlighted as unavailable and may display a warning when you attempt to assign them to a shift.

Unavailability does not prevent a manager from assigning a shift. It acts as a warning so managers can make an informed rostering decision when required.

Did this answer your question?